Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Motivation and Burn Out

Change it up

I wanna talk about motivation today.  I’ve been having a hard time getting motivated lately.  Everything seems like a drag to start.  Going to the gym takes a monumental effort.

That’s normal for most people, but the gym has always been my safe haven for me.  It was the one place I could go and forget about any problem I thought I had.  Now, I struggle to get myself out the door.

But it’s not just for hard things like working out.  I’m not motivated to do anything.  Don’t get me wrong, I still do everything I have to do, but I’m not psyched about doing any of it.

So how do you get motivated to do the things you dislike when you can’t get up for the stuff you like?

For me, it’s kind of like the concept of writer’s block.  Someone asked me recently what I do when I can’t come up with anything to write about.  My answer was that I just start writing.  From the forward action, something is bound to happen.  It might be nothing but junk that comes out, but junk is still something.  I did what I had to do.  I put the words on paper.

That’s exactly how I feel about the gym.  As much as I hate it, I need to make it through the door.  That’s the big challenge.  Once I’m there, I have no choice but to work out.  I mean, I guess I could just leave, but I’d feel too guilty afterwards…

Listen to the full micro video podcast avove.  

Discussion about this podcast

Internal Jiu Jitsu
Internal Jiu Jitsu
Julio Angel Rivera's Substack: A chance to go further. Let's take a ride deep into your mind and mine.